Tags

, , ,

 

 On Sunday, as I was walking through my backyard to my garage, I saw what I thought was the local stray black cat.  It was around 11p.m. and the animal was sitting next to a dark colored birdbath in a shadowed part of the yard.  As we (me, my partner, and my boyfriend) progressed in the yard, the animal hopped away.  It was not in fact the stray black cat.  Rather it was a lovely black rabbit.  How appropriate for Ostara, right?  Of course, I immedietly named him the Black Rabbit of Inlé (after the rabbit grim reaper in Watership Down).  We all spent some time watching said bunny hop out of the yard.  He seemed skittish, but not totally feral.  I walked down my driveway, watching the black rabbit hop down the alley and disappear into the shadows.

I’ve been thinking about nature in the city.  I live in, what Wikipedia claims is, the third largest city in the world (at least based on gross metropolitan product numbers.  So often in witchcraft and pagan circles, nature takes center stage.  But more than just nature, the idea of “getting back to nature” or living out in the woods become a goal of many.  I like camping, I’ve done it once.  I’d love to do it again.  But, but – I love the city.  I love the energy of it.  I love the community of it.  I love the options and opportunity it provides me and the millions of people who share the city with me.  I find the energy of the city just as compelling as that of the wilds of nature (or the wilds of a city park).  I’ve raised energy and a dance club with as much success as I have in a redwood forest.     

