Tags

I’ve tried to avoid fucking with men on dating sites.   I generally respond as politely as I can, even when I’m rejecting them.

i-never-drink-wine

Gary Oldman as Dracula in the 1993 film Bram Stoker’s Dracula. 

Today, I gave in.  I woke up to a message of “sup” – seriously, that was it.  Normally, I’d ignore the sender and wait for the inevitable “you’re a bitch or whatever” reply. Today, as I looked at “sup” – my mind instantly went to Dracula.  So I replied: “You will I trust, excuse me that I do not join you, but I have dined already, and I do not sup.”  – He hasn’t replied, but he has looked at my profile 3 more times.

Image84_Ineverdrink_wine

Bela Lugosi and David Manners in the iconic “I never drink… wine” scene from the 1931 Dracula

Film versions of Dracula changed the line from supping to drinking wine (or in the case of Dracula, not drinking wine).  The word play makes a better joke (and Stoker wasn’t known for his jokes).  Also, I suspect that contemporary audiences wouldn’t understand the use of sup as a verb.

I genuinely try not to troll anyone.  My understanding of “trolling” is to purposefully incite another person to anger.  To me, that isn’t discourse.  I’ve seen this behavior used to derail far to many conversations in real life and online.  In the online dating world, most of the time I think trolling fails to address the actual problem (in my experience the actual problem being the sheer number of horribly misogynistic messages I receive).    However, today I went for it.

I am sadden, that armed with what is considered the last of the gothic novels, I did not get a chance to respond with other choice passages… However, it may be an option in the future.

I was happy to see that the entire novel is listed on Sacred Texts. Com

